Tags

, , , ,

the forever song

Vengeance will be hers.

Allison Sekemoto once struggled with the question: human or monster? With the death of her love, Zeke, she has her answer.

Monster.

Allie will embrace her cold vampire side to hunt down and end Sarren, the psychopathic vampire who murdered Zeke. But the trail is bloody and long, and Sarren has left many surprises for Allie and her companions – her creator Kanin, and her blood brother, Jackal. The trail is leading straight to the one place they must protect at any cost – the last vampire-free zone on Earth, Eden. And Sarren has one final, brutal shock in store for Allie.

In a ruined world where no life is sacred and former allies can turn on you in one heartbeat, Allie will face her darkest days. And if she succeeds, her triumph will be short-lived in the face of surviving forever alone.

THE FINAL HUNT IS ON.


 

Rating: (3+1)/5 [I’ll explain the +1 thing later on]

*major spoilers alert*

Meh. The first two books were better. This one was a bit too lovey-dovey and also wayyyyyy too much of a mopefest. If I wanted to read/listen to so much moping, I’d just talk to myself.

Anyway, let’s start with the good parts first 😀

Jackal: 

Holy mother of fluffy bunnies, he was AWESOME. I wanted to hate him after the first book, but I just couldn’t do it. He’s hilarious ohmygod, and he’s such a contrast to emo kids Allie and Zeke that I just couldn’t bring myself to feel anything negative towards him.

“Silly me, thinking you actually had potential. I thought, Finally, she’s realized she’s a vampire. Now we’re getting somewhere. But now you’re just a big fluffy bunny with sharp teeth.”

I don’t see how you can hate someone like that. I’m going to be thinking about fluffy bunnies a lot when I read any vampire books from now on.

fluffy bunny

Kanin:

I know he’s probably as old as the Neanderthals, but damn he’s still managed to give me them FEELS. Them fatherly feels, I mean. Not the other kind of feels. *awkward pause* He’s so wise and so patient and just so NICE even though he’s a Master vampire and can actually be an asshole to whoever without getting torn to pieces. I’m really glad that he’s found his peace now, even though it’s through such a heart-wrenching way. I cried so, so hard when he died. So the additional 1 point in rating was for him. Thank you Kanin, for being the voice of reason and the soul of your little family.

 

Now, let’s move on to the not-so-good/the bad.

The incessant mopefest:

THE FIRST 60 PAGES OF THE BOOK WAS FILLED WITH ALLIE MOPING OVER ZEKE. It was all like “BOOHOOHOO I CAN’T THINK ABOUT ZEKE SO I’LL JUST BECOME A MONSTER AND DISAPPOINT KANIN BOOHOOHOO”. Then it was okay for a while… until she found out that Zeke was still alive. THEN ALLIE AND ZEKE STARTED MOPING. TOGETHER. “WAHHHHHH WAHHHHHHHH I’M A DEMON. I’M A MONSTER. I WANT TO DIE.  WAHHHHHHHHH” “ZEKE NOOOOOOO WHY ARE YOU A MONSTER WHY ARE YOU NOT HUMAN ANYMORE NOOOOOOO”

I rolled my eyes so many times and so hard at the two of them that I was starting to get worried about my eyeballs getting stuck at the back of my head.

The plot twists:

Honestly, I already knew from the first book that Allie was going to be a Master vampire. I’ve read so many books that I can already predict most of the plot “twists” that most authors can throw at me. It would actually have been more surprising if she wasn’t a Master vampire. That’d definitely have been something different.

Furthermore, the whole “Kanin-has-to-sacrifice-himself-in-order-to-save-the-world” thing did not rub off well on me. Excuse me, couldn’t he have like, what, I don’t know, slit his wrists so that the rabids could be healed? They technically don’t actually need to eat his body right == I can’t even.

 

The moping, whining and completely predictable plot “twists” brought the rating down to a two. The good writing helped to boost it to a three. Dear Kanin brought it back up to a four. Overall, it was alright, I guess.

