Tags

, , , ,

the savage blue

A storm is coming…

The ocean is a vicious place. Deeper and darker than Tristan could have imagined. Beneath its calm blue surface, an ancient battle is churning —and no one is safe.

In the quest for the Sea Throne, Tristan has already watched one good friend die. Now he must lead the rest on a dangerous voyage in search of the trident that will make him king. But while Tristan chases his destiny, the dark forces racing against him are getting stronger, and the sea witch of his nightmares is getting closer.

Battling sea dragons and savage creatures of the deep, Tristan needs his friends’ support. But they each have their secrets, and a betrayal will force Tristan to choose between his crown and his best friend Layla — the only girl he’s ever loved.


 

Rating: 4/5

Honestly, there’s nothing wrong with the book (well, not much anyway), but I gave it a 4 instead of a 5 because I could fall asleep while reading it. Granted, I was really tired while reading, but I still should have felt slightly motivated to stay awake. Eh, nope, no motivation there at all. It was a pretty classic middle book, albeit far, far, far from the worst I’ve read *coughs* Torment *coughs* Crescendo *coughs* By classic, I mean a filler book, not a horrible one 😀 So, let’s get started, shall we?

Tristan is, by far, one of the funniest main characters ever. I kept giggling throughout the book because of his monologues in his mind.

If I could come up with Kurt’s signature fragrance, I’d say it’d be Parfum de Uptight.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA I can’t even *wipes away a laughing tear* It also helps that he’s not TSTL (Too Stupid To Live), completely in love with Layla (and only Layla) and has violet eyes (yes, I’ve got a thing for pretty eyes don’t judge me). There have been moments where he showed a lot of angst and recklessness, but I don’t blame him. I probably would have reacted in the same way if I were in his shoes. Kudos to Ms Córdova for creating a character that’s so sympathetic and lovable.

I actually sort of liked Kurt too. He might be an uptight stick in the mud, but he’s serious about his duty and he tries his best to protect those he cares about, although his way is usually not the best. After what happened in the end, I still don’t believe that Kurt wants to fight Tristan. He’s not the kind of person that turns against his friends for power. He might actually be trying to protect Tristan from the fate that the oracle predicted. However, as much as I like him, I would still totally say this to him.

kurt's butt

Tristan and I would totally be friends.

Then there’s Layla… What a little bitch she can be at times.

“She’s Adaro’s cousin, you know,” Kurt says. “Perhaps you can find out if he saw the oracle at the cove.”

I grit my teeth. “I know.

Layla’s face is beet red. “Are you guys going to an underwater drive-in? Park on the back of a shark-drawn chariot?”

are you serious

*facepalms* Eh, hello, excuse me, your boyfriend is doing this because he needs to, not because he wants to. Plus, Sarabelle (Adaro’s cousin) is more than likely to bite his face off and use his toenails as hair accessories. You should be worried about him instead of trying to make him feel worse about what he’s doing. Despite her jealous streak, she’s pretty decent to Tristan throughout this book, so I guess that makes it even. Sort of.

I won’t talk much about Thalia and Gwen, though I’ll say that I wish that Thalia had a bigger part to play and that Gwen will probably come around in the third book.

Overall, the book was enjoyable, albeit a tad slow at times. The writing also bothered me occasionally, which contributed to the subtraction of the one star. Definitely recommended for all.

