Tags

, , , , ,

the vast and brutal sea

This epic clash of sand and sea will pit brother against brother-and there can only be one winner

In two days, the race for the Sea Court throne will be over-but all the rules have changed. The sea witch, Nieve, has kidnapped Layla and is raising an army of mutant sea creatures to overthrow the crown. Kurt, the one person Tristan could depend on in the battle for the Sea King’s throne, has betrayed him. Now Kurt wants the throne for himself. Tristan has the Scepter of the Earth, but it’s not enough. He’ll have to travel to the mysterious, lost Isle of Tears and unleash the magic that first created the king’s powerful scepter. It’s a brutal race to the finish, and there can only be one winner.


 

Rating: 5/5

I’m so sad that this series is over. I want more. MORE. MOREEEEEEE. MY PRECIOUSSSSSS.

my precious

Oh my goodness, I’m gonna have nightmares tonight.

Tristan has to be one of my favourite main characters ever. He’s funny, sympathetic, and very real. I had absolutely no complaints with him. He’s been burdened with such heavy responsibilities at such a young age, yet he rarely mopes or complains about it. He just gets things done as best as he can, and I respect that. Besides, his sense of humour is GOLDEN, even though it occasionally comes up at a really bad timing.

I feel hands pushing me forward and hear the quick feet of Dylan beside me. “Do you want them to tear you apart?” he asks.

“Can’t make it too easy for them,” I say.

“You guys should try out my weapons,” I shout to the leader. “They slice through bone really nicely.”

“And have my flesh burned off when I touch one of them?” she asks. “Keep walking.”

“Damn, there goes my maniacal plan,” I say as hands shove me. “What’s your plan? My parents are pretty middle class so we don’t have much in the way of ransom. My college fund won’t get you much in this economy.”

“Can I put an arrow through his jaw?” A dude’s voice comes from somewhere in the back. “His babbling offends the river gods.”

“Sorry, river gods!”

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA GUYS I CAN’T. I would have quoted a shorter portion, but this was too funny. Tristan, I salute you. Gods, I’m gonna miss him so, so much.

Brendan is another one of my favourite characters in this series. He only made a short appearance in the second book, and didn’t really show in the first book, but in this book he was the bomb. In all appearances, he is a carefree playboy who’s obsessed with his looks.

It’s Brendan who says, “Kings must also be terribly attractive. If that were the case, it’d be me on the throne and not you, Cousin.”

However, as they always say, appearances are deceiving. He is pretty badass when he wants to be, and he’s always got Tristan’s back. I don’t know about the rest of you, but for me, loyalty to one’s friends is pretty darn hot. WHEW THERE’S A FIRE BURNING UP HERE.

*ahem* Anyway…

HALLELUJAH TO THE GIRL POWER IN THIS SERIES, BUT ESPECIALLY IN THIS INSTALLMENT. Layla – WHAT A BADASS WHOO. Thalia – so loyal and so, so lovely. Kai – so trustworthy and smart. Gwen – what a brave soul she is. The oracles are important, and are all female. Even Nieve is pretty cool (in the psychotic sort of way). I love the fact that there was no “I-need-a-man-to-save-me” situation. Kudos, Ms Córdova, you have done us ladies proud.

This book was such a great end to the series. I knew that Kurt would eventually come around (though I guess he never really did switch sides in the first place). Angelo also had a presence and gosh, it was quite funny. Shelly HAHAHAHA oh man that ish was hilarious. Recommended for everyone, especially those who like sparkly merdudes.

