Tags

, , , ,

unearthly

In the beginning, there’s a boy standing in the trees…
Clara Gardner has recently learned that she’s part angel. Having angel blood run through her veins not only makes her smarter, stronger, and faster than humans (a word, she realizes, that no longer applies to her), but it means she has a purpose, something she was put on this earth to do. Figuring out what that is, though, isn’t easy.

Her visions of a raging forest fire and an alluring stranger lead her to a new school in a new town. When she meets Christian, who turns out to be the boy of her dreams (literally), everything seems to fall into place and out of place at the same time. Because there’s another guy, Tucker, who appeals to Clara’s less angelic side.

As Clara tries to find her way in a world she no longer understands, she encounters unseen dangers and choices she never thought she’d have to make between honesty and deceit, love and duty, good and evil. When the fire from her vision finally ignites, will Clara be ready to face her destiny?


 

Rating: 4/5

This is the second time I borrowed this book from the library. The first time I borrowed it, I didn’t read it. I think it was because I was afraid that this book would disappoint me (like Fallen did). Thankfully, this book didn’t let me down. I enjoyed every minute of it.

I generally stay away from romance novels because I cannot stand all the lovey-dovey things. So colour me surprised when I realised that my favourite part of the book was the romance between Tucker and Clara. At first, Tucker was the classic douchebag that we see in every YA novel. So I was all like, “Okay, I bet she’s gonna fall in love with him despite him being a jerkface.” BUT THAT DIDN’T HAPPEN. In fact, she only started liking him AFTER he stopped being a jerk and started being a big sweetheart.

slow clap.gif

Their feelings for each other were also developed over time, and didn’t just pop up out of nowhere. Neither was their romance “predestined”.

I approve of this romance. Me likey very muchy. See, boys, girls do like nice guys too.

Besides the romance, I feel like the whole “angel with a destiny” concept was pretty well done. The visions part of it was really interesting, and I was kept guessing right to the end. Even though I’ve read quite a lot of books about angels and destinies, I would say that this book is definitely one of the better written and more unique ones.

However, there were certainly some aspects of it that I did not like. For example, Clara’s mother constantly keeping secrets from her. We all know that that never ends well, because the one who is kept in the dark will be even more likely to get herself into stupid and dangerous situations. Prime example: Lucinda Price from the Fallen series. Yes, some secrets are okay. The Blackwings secret was understandable. But when ALMOST EVERYTHING is a secret, it is not okay anymore. STOP KEEPING SO MANY SECRETS DARN IT.

frustrated

This book was pretty good overall. Some characters felt a bit one-dimensional, but I’m hoping that they will feel more realistic in the next two books. I hope that the setting will be described in more detail in the next book as it seems like Clara and her family are living in a really beautiful and scenic place. The writing was decent, with little bits of humour injected in some places, so I shall leave a quote for the ending of this review.

Mum has tried to teach me to fly exactly two times, and both were complete disasters. In fact, I’ve essentially given up on the idea of flight altogether and accepted that I’m going to be an angel-blood who stays earthbound, a flightless bird, like an ostrich maybe or, in this weather, a penguin.

 

