Tags

, , , , , ,

blood feud

It’s been centuries since Isabeau St. Croix barely survived the French Revolution. Now she’s made her way back to the living and she must face the ultimate test by confronting the evil British lord who left her for dead the day she turned into a vampire. That’s if she can control her affection for Logan Drake, a vampire whose bite is as sweet as the revenge she seeks.
The clans are gathering for Helena’s royal coronation as the next vampire queen, and new alliances are beginning to form now that the old rifts of Lady Natasha’s reign have started to heal. But with a new common enemy, Leander Montmarte—a vicious leader who hopes to force Solange to marry him and usurp the power of the throne for himself—the clans must stand together to preserve the peace he threatens to destroy.
This second adventure in the Drake Chronicles—told from both Logan’s and Isabeau’s perspectives—has all the same butt-kicking action, heart-pounding romances and snarky humor that readers loved in Hearts at Stake, as well as exciting new revelations about the vampire dynasties to keep readers coming back for more.


 

Rating: 5/5 :DDDDDDD

pedo face

Ok, review done, BYEEEEEEE.

I’m kidding. (Please don’t go.)

Seriously, this book is so hilarious and awesome that that’s the only face I could make after finishing it.

In the sequel to “Hearts At Stake”, we follow the Drake family as they prepare for the coronation of Helena – and the work and attempted assassinations and other crap that go along with that. Instead of looking at things through Lucy’s and Nicholas’ eyes, this time, we explore their world through the narratives of Logan and Isabeau.

I would like to say that I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of reading this book. It was funny, it was sweet, and it was crazy. This book is exactly what I need right now. You can’t tell me that you don’t laugh/go “AWW HELL YEAH” when you read these kind of things.

Lucy snorted. “Snow White and the Seven Buttheads. You could give Disney a run for their money.”

Nicholas poked her in the ribs. “I am not a singing dwarf!”

“What the hell is that?” I asked.

“It’s a dog,” she replied matter-of-factly.

“Isabeau, that’s not a dog, that’s a moose.”

“Finally, a bit of luck. Rat bastard,” I hissed down at Montmartre. “Mangy dog of a scurvy goat.”

“That doesn’t even make sense,” Isabeau murmured.

“Feels good though. Try it.”

She narrowed her eyes at the top of Montmartre’s perfectly groomed hair. “Balding donkey’s ass.”

“Nice.”

“Sniveling flea-bitten rabid monkey droppings.”

“Clearly, you’re a natural.”

“The hell you will,” Logan yelled, finally swinging into the clearing. His brothers followed suit, like deranged monkeys. I barely had time to whistle the dogs into an attack.

Every single one of the Drake brothers was insane.

HAHAHAHA. I’m actually partially regretting my decision to read this book in public because my body was shaking with suppressed laughter half the time and anyone looking at me might be wondering why the eff I was laughing so hard at a book. (I’m sure I’m not the only one who laughs at stuff in public… Right?)

The Drake brothers have the best sense of humour ever, and Lucy just gets me with her personality EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. SHE APPEARS. That girl is my spirit animal.

As far as main characters go, Logan and Isabeau are pretty good. They don’t make ridiculously stupid decisions. They aren’t embroiled in some stupid love triangle. Their feelings for each other slowly develop. They can see reason (except when it involves Solange, then all the big brother instincts kick in). I liked that we got to know Isabeau more through her past, but I feel like the past sometimes disrupted the exciting moment in the present. There would be times where one chapter ended on a really exciting note in the present, then the next chapter talked about Isabeau’s past, and so the excitement died when I continued with the present. That was the only thing that actually bothered me in this book, but it wasn’t a huge annoyance, so I didn’t remove any stars for it.

Overall, this book was fan-freaking-ta-bulous. The family dynamics was amazing (I want an older brother NOW), the humour left me giggling like an idiot, and we got to know more about the vampire world (i.e. the Hounds). Recommended for anyone who wants a fun read.

“Liam Drake, I can look after myself.”

“Helena Drake, I love you, take the extra guard.”

They glowered at each other. I knew Dad would win. Mom was vicious when cornered, but Dad had a way about him, like a snake hypnotising his supper. His glower softened. “Please, love.”

pikachu heart eyes

URGH EVEN THE DRAKE PARENTS ARE CUTE.

 

P.S. Sorry that I haven’t written a book review in forever. I read two Agatha Christie books in that break period, but I decided not to review them because most people would have already done so.

