Tags

, , , , , , ,

hallowed

For months Clara Gardner trained to face the fire from her visions, but she wasn’t prepared for the choice she had to make that day. And in the aftermath, she discovered that nothing about being part angel is as straightforward as she thought.

Now, torn between her love for Tucker and her complicated feelings about the roles she and Christian seem destined to play in a world that is both dangerous and beautiful, Clara struggles with a shocking revelation: Someone she loves will die in a matter of months. With her future uncertain, the only thing Clara knows for sure is that the fire was just the beginning.

In this compelling sequel to Unearthly, Cynthia Hand captures the joy of first love, the anguish of loss, and the confusion of becoming who you are.


 

Rating: 2.5/5

Well. That was unexpectedly unpleasant. It wasn’t bad by any standards, I just really, really, REALLY hate love triangles. I hate them with my heart, body, and soul. I find them ridiculous and pointless, so the love triangle being more or less the MAIN THEME annoyed me to no end. By the end of the book, I was just like:

banging head against wallfrustratedsomeone shoot meangry must resist

The frustration is real.

Furthermore, the whole book was basically a giant pity party for dear old Clara. Lovely, just lovely. I would give y’all a little rundown of the plot, but I’m sure it’s safe to say that it goes like this (it’s all from Clara’s POV):

CHRISTIAN CHRISTIAN CHRISTIAN

HMPH MY MOM IS KEEPING SECRETS FROM ME AGAIN

TUCKER TUCKER TUCKER

BOOHOOHOO WOE IS ME

CHRISTIAN TUCKER CHRISTIAN TUCKER

WAHHHHHHHH I’M THE CENTRE OF THE EFFING UNIVERSE

CHRISTIAN CHRISTIAN TUCKER TUCKER CHRISTIAN TUCKER

(When I start colour coding stuff, it means that I’m getting really pissed off.)

urghare you serious

Gods, it’s like some horror story unfolding right in front of my eyes.

Let me just quote something for the book that just. Urgh. Just read it, please.

Before I moved here, I never got the whole love-triangle thing. You know, in movies or romance novels or whatnot, where there’s one chick that all the guys are drooling over, even though you can’t see anything particularly special about her. But oh, no, they both must have her. And she’s like, oh dear, however will I choose? William is so sensitive, he understands me, he swept me off my feet, oh misery, blubber, blubber, but how can I go on living without Rafe and his devil-may-care ways and his dark and only-a-little-abusive love? Upchuck. So unrealistic, I always thought.

Joke’s on me, I guess.

So, she knows that it’s a joke. A big, fat, torturous joke. But it doesn’t stop. No, it does not. It drags on until the book is almost done. I just. I cannot.

Anyway, now that my rant about the love triangle is done (who am I kidding I could never finish ranting), I will talk about the characters. Or try my best to talk about them, because dear Clara is the centre of the damn galaxy and other characters are just her accessories.

I think that I’ve made my feelings very clear on Clara. I thoroughly dislike her in this book, and not just because of the love triangle and its ‘end’. I find her extremely self-centred and selfish. Everything is about her. It’s almost never about anyone else. Granted, there were certain times where she thought about other people’s feelings, but they were not enough to make up for her general lack of consideration.

Tucker was pretty much just Clara’s arm candy. I didn’t see his personality much because he was smooching with Clara half the time. I wish I’d seen more of him. I really, really like him. (Yes, I’m on Team Tucker.) I have never really felt anything for Christian. He’s way too perfect, and he’s also a freaking special snowflake. It irritates me. He was also just there to play the part of the other love interest. Barely a lick of personality shown. Wendy was basically non-existent, and Angela was mostly there to give us information.

Despite the many flaws in the characters and the presence of the stupid, utterly ridiculous, irritating-as-eff  love triangle, the writing was not bad, and the plot flowed pretty well. I know slightly more about the world than I did in the previous book (thanks to Angela), so I guess it doesn’t deserve a one star rating? This book also features Clara’s dad (who I like), so I guess that makes it slightly better. I’ll read the next book just so I can get this trilogy over and done with. Recommended to people with high tolerance for self-pity and love triangles.

“No, I want to meet this Tucker kid.”

“Dad. He’s not a kid.”

“Don’t you want me to meet him?” he asks with the hint of a smile. “Are you afraid I’ll scare him off?”

Yes.

“No,” I say. “But don’t try to scare him off, okay? He’s been pretty cool with all the crazy stuff so far. I don’t want to push it.”

“Got it. No threatening his life if he doesn’t treat my daughter right.”

