Tags

, , , , , , ,

out for blood

Hunter Wild is the youngest in a long line of elite vampire hunters, a legacy that is both a blessing and a curse at the secret Helios-Ra Academy, where she excels at just about everything. Thanks to her friendship with Kieran Black, Hunter receives a special invitation to attend the coronation of Helena Drake, and for the first time, she sees the difference between vampires that must be hunted and vampires that can become friends-or even more. When students at the academy fall victim to a mysterious illness, Hunter suspects they are under attack from within. She will need someone she can trust to help her save the future of Helios-Ra . . . help that shockingly comes in the form of Quinn Drake, a drop-dead gorgeous vampire. Who said senior year would be easy?


 

Rating: 5/5

happy dancepuking rainbows

Most accurate portrayals of me during/after reading this book.

I’m so glad to say that so far, this series hasn’t disappointed me. The plot twists might have been way too predictable, but the plot itself is decent, and the characters are amazing.

In this third installment of the series, we don’t focus on the vampires as much as we do on the vampire hunters, the Helios-Ra. Students in the Helios-Ra academy are falling sick, but there is more to the illness than meets the eye. Hunter decides to get to the bottom of it, but to do so, she needs the help of the gorgeous, flirtatious Quinn Drake. Through their interactions, their relationship develops from friendship into something more.

Let’s talk about the romance first, shall we?

pikachu heart eyes

EEEEKK. GUYS, THEY’RE TOO CUTE. I’ve always had a thing for bad boys like Quinn, so it’s no surprise that I really, really, REALLY like him. He’s also not the obnoxious “I’ll treat you badly so that you’ll go away because I bring danger to you blah blah blah” type, and so I like him even more. Hunter is a kickass hunter (hehehe that pun) who doesn’t need Quinn to be her knight in shining armour because she can take care of herself. She knows that she shouldn’t be falling for him so hard, but she can’t help it. What I like about this romance is that they don’t try to deny their attraction, like so many other books in other series. He doesn’t go, “Oh it’s too dangerous to be around me so I’m gonna ignore you and be mean to you/blow hot and cold towards you” (Ok, fine, he did that once but he got over it soon enough), and she doesn’t go, “BOOHOOHOO I’m a hunter and you’re a vampire so we can never be together but I’m so attracted to you *swoons*”. The only time Quinn was hiding from Hunter (and he was literally hiding in his room), she kicked down his door, then he got over it. In my opinion, that basically makes them a perfect match. CERTAIN OTHER AUTHORS, PLEASE TAKE NOTE THAT THIS IS HOW YOU MAKE ROMANCE NOT ANNOYING.

The sibling relations in this book are so cute, I have honestly no words to describe them. I know that I mentioned the sibling relations in my reviews of the 1st and 2nd book, but I just can’t get enough of it. And since I can’t describe them, I’ll just quote some of the paragraphs from the book.

First, we have Solange and Quinn.

“Sol, all that’s normal. Lucy smelled good before I turned and now she smells even better. But I haven’t tried to eat her face and neither will you.”

“She’s not safe in this house.”

“Safer than out there,” I argued, even though I agreed with her. “Look, you used to eat hamburgers.”

She blinked, confused. “So?”

“So, did you ever walk through one of the farms at a field party and suddenly try to eat a cow?”

“Um, no.” Her chuckle was watery but it was better than nothing. “And, ew.”

“Exactly. You can crave blood and not eat your best friend.”

“You make it sound so normal. And I’m totally telling Lucy you compared her to a cow.”

Then, there’s Sebastian and Quinn.

“Quinn.” Sebastian raised his eyebrows. “You walked right by that girl. What’s wrong?”

“I did?” I looked over my shoulder. A vampire with short brown hair and beauty mark at the side of her mouth winked at me. I winked back. Then I turned back to Sebastian, horrified. “I didn’t even see her.”

“You’re off your game.”

“Shh, keep it down, will you?” I straightened my shirt. “I have a reputation. I’m going back. She’s cute.”

“Forget it. She flirts with everyone.”

“So?” I grinned.

“Just come on. Mom and Dad are in the back room. And we can’t handle any more disgruntled exes.”

We really need to see more of Sebastian. Marcus and Duncan, too.

Finally, there’s Kieran (sister being Hunter) and Quinn (sister being Solange).

Yup. I was totally, completely, and irrevocably into this girl.

A thump on the door had us both jumping.

“Hey, get off my sister,” Kieran barked from the other side.

“Get lost, Black,” I called out. “And she’s not your sister.”

“May as well be.”

“Well, you stop kissing Solange and I’ll stop kissing Hunter.”

Why are they all so cute. They are literally the definition of #siblinggoals.

Overall, the plot is decent, the romance is really cute, and #siblinggoals. It more than makes up for the completely predictable plot twist, occasional grammatical error and some really cheesy clichés. Recommended for everyone who just wants to have a fun time reading.

“I feel like I’m in the witness protection program,” Lucy whispered. “You guys need suits and dark glasses.”

“I’m not wearing a suit even for you, sweetheart,” I whispered back.

“You’re no fun.”

As the silence stretched uncomfortably, she started to hum the theme song to Mission: Impossible under her breath.

Solange smothered a startled laugh. “Are you nuts?”

“Your brothers need to meditate. They’re all stressed out and their chi is bunching up. That can’t be comfortable.”

“I don’t even know what that means,” Nicholas hissed at her. “But there’s this whole stealth thing we’re going for. You’re not helping.”

Lucy grinned at Solange. “He’s so cute when he tries to be all Alpha male.”

“This is serious, Lucy.”

“She reached and pulled a piece of his hair. “I know that. But we’re barely off the driveway.”

“If you don’t stop talking I will hide all of your chocolate,” Nicholas promised.

