Tags

, , , , , ,

all the truth that's in me

Four years ago, Judith and her best friend disappeared from their small town of Roswell Station. Two years ago, only Judith returned, permanently mutilated, reviled and ignored by those who were once her friends and family.

Unable to speak, Judith lives like a ghost in her own home, silently pouring out her thoughts to the boy who’s owned her heart as long as she can remember—even if he doesn’t know it—her childhood friend, Lucas.

But when Roswell Station is attacked, long-buried secrets come to light, and Judith is forced to choose: continue to live in silence, or recover her voice, even if it means changing her world, and the lives around her, forever.

This startlingly original novel will shock and disturb you; it will fill you with Judith’s passion and longing; and its mysteries will keep you feverishly turning the pages until the very last.


 

Rating: 5/5
It takes a lot for a book to render me almost completely speechless. If I remember correctly, I’ve never been speechless about a book in my life. I’ve praised, ranted and cried over books. But I’ve never been left incapable of words before. That was how hard this book hit me.

This story is written in the second person’s narrative, with “you” being Lucas, the love of Judith’s life. Being a diary of sorts, it jumps occasionally between the past and the present. With the second person narrative and the time changes, I would usually get befuddled, but in this case, they somehow work.

I really cannot express my feelings for the book in words. When I read the synopsis, I thought that I’d be reading something entirely different. Exactly what, I cannot say. Just not this dark tale which left me depressed the rest of the night.

I have to say, this book is not typically something that I would read. I only read it because of the great reviews that it had. And I’m not disappointed, at all. Throughout the book, I felt Judith’s hope, her despair, her joy, and I went on that emotional journey with her. It’s a really rare thing when the author manages to capture her audience so deeply, that they actually feel like they become part of the story.

In hours, all I know will be consumed.

All that have mocked me, ignored me, spat upon me since my return. They were once my neighbours and friends, even if I am no longer theirs.

Even they are worth a sacrifice.

The story is set in the past, maybe in about the mid-1800s? (That’s what my friend thinks, anyway.) Then, one’s maidenhood was still considered to be of the utmost importance, even if the lady had been forced against her will. A lady who was not deemed to be ‘pure’ would be the lowest of the low, and she would be ridiculed and cast aside. If you are unable to read about the social stigma and all the accompanying actions of the people, I would suggest that you avoid this book, because it hits you really hard, right smack in the face.

I was drawn into the book within the first 10 pages, and I couldn’t stop reading. I loved the brother-sister relationship of Darrel and Judith. The love story didn’t bother me, although I usually dislike romances that take up a huge part of the plot. Recommended to all.

“Get your learning while you canh.”

Darrel paused to shift his weight off his crutch for a few seconds’ rest.

“I will,” he said, charging forward again. “For as long as I have to. But you don’t have to keep going for my sake. If Lucas will keep driving me, you don’t need to go.”

“I wantt to learn,” I reminded him.

He gave me a sly look, his freckled imp’s face smiling like it once did more often.

“Don’t see why it matters so much now,” he said, poking me with his crutch. “What does a housewife need with reading?”

And he took off hop-stepping before I could wallop him.

 

