Hi guys! I don’t think that I’ve said this before, but I’m an ardent Kpopper. For those of you who don’t know what it means, it basically means that I listen to Korean Pop music. A lot. I’ve been listening to it for nearly 7 years now, so I’ve seen the insane rise of Kpop in the world. But what is a 2nd Gen Kpopper, you may ask. Well, the 2nd generation of Kpop is basically the time period from the early 2000s to about 2012 (???), and I got into Kpop in May 2010, so that basically makes me a 2nd Gen Kpopper.

Just to give y’all some background

I support many, MANY groups, so there is not just ONE particular fandom that I identify with. However, if I really had to choose, I’m a HOTTEST, a VIP & an ELF (these are all fandom names). I also am a SHAWOL, a BLACKJACK, an ARMY, a CASSIOPEIA and a BLINK. I also enjoy listening to songs from IKON, Miss A, Mamamoo and AKMU. And of course, I know many, many songs from many other groups (I used to be a SONE too).

As you can see, my knowledge of Kpop songs is relatively vast. And with the song, comes the MV. So that means that I watch a lot of Kpop MVs too.

(end of background info)

I got into Kpop mainly because it sounded different from English music. It helped that the guys were really good looking (they still are). In 2010, I think that the music and MVs in English pop were still rather tame, so I was still rather engaged with it. My time was probably split like 60% Kpop and 40% English music, which is still a relatively even ratio. However, as the years wore on, English pop started to become really, REALLY sexualised, so I slowly stopped engaging with it, and spent more of my time in the Kpop world instead. I didn’t like how uncomfortable the English pop songs and videos made me feel, which is a huge part of why I kind of stopped listening to it. I was really happy in the Kpop world for the first 3-4 years (2010-2013/2014) because there was so little sexual innuendo in mainstream Kpop (at least from what I know and listen to). Don’t get me wrong, I’m not conservative at all. I’m just uncomfortable when women are seen as tits and an ass. The music was also really, REALLY GOOD. Each group had their own sound and none of them were generic!!! They were all special in their own ways, and that, too, appealed to me very strongly. Good music with individuality and minimal sexual innuendo??? COUNT ME IN BRUH.

However, after those few years, influence from the West started to seep into Korean music. As Western music got even more sexual, so did Korean music. While Koreans are definitely more conservative than the West, that doesn’t mean that they can’t incorporate sexual innuendo and sexual objectification into their music and their music videos. Certain girl groups that debuted around the end of the second generation of Kpop (i.e. 2011-2013) incorporate certain dance moves or have certain scenes in their MVs that make me really feel like they are being treated as tits and an ass. For example, ‘Up & Down’ by EXID, ‘Like A Cat’ & ‘Miniskirt’ by AOA and ‘Something’ by Girl’s Day. These are all newer groups which I feel are going the more ‘sexual’ road. And by that I mean the ‘sexually objectified’ road.

But it is not just the newer groups that are going down that road. Some of the older groups are on that same path too. A good example of that would be SISTAR. One can argue that they were the ones who started the trend in the first place, and I am inclined to agree. One of their most famous songs, ‘Alone’, came out in 2012 and it is pretty sexually objectifying. Even their debut song ‘Push Push’ in 2010 had slightly sexually objectifying  dance moves. Y’all can just search for SISTAR if y’all are interested to see their dances. They are all pretty objectifying.

Another very, very good example would be Hyuna from 4Minute. She debuted in 2009 with 4 other members, but got a solo career in 2011 with the song ‘Bubble Pop’. Safe to say that is minimal bubble popping and maximum booty popping. Her songs have gotten more and more sexual over time, and the MVs make me more and more uncomfortable. She’s a pretty good dancer, but her company is limiting her to twerking and body gyrations. WHY ARE THEY DOING THIS. Furthermore, her songs keep sending mixed messages. Look at these two photos:

They’re from the same MV! So she’s portraying a cute innocent girl and a sexualised goddess in the same space??? What??? Let me just say that this is really unrealistic in real life and also really unhealthy. I shan’t go into it because then this post will be 1.5x longer than it is going to be.

poker-face-png-24

Kpop has come a long way from 2010 to now. I’m really glad that it has gotten really popular internationally, but at the same time, I’m sad that this new generation of Kpop is becoming increasingly sexualised. I will still listen to it, but I will stay away from all the sexually objectifying MVs. Hopefully, people become more aware that this is happening, and will try to prevent further objectification of women. I’d hate to have to stop listening to all the girl groups.

Anyway, to those of you who are interested, I’ll provide a list of songs which I think you should listen to in my next post under the same category! This post has finally ended! 😀

